JAMES OTIS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
  • Home
  • Faculty & Staff
    • Principal
    • Main Office
    • Nurse
    • Teachers & Paraprofessionals >
      • Kindergarten 1
      • Kindergarten 2
      • Grade 1
      • Grade 2
      • Grade 3
      • Grade 4
      • Grade 5
      • Grade 6
      • Paraprofessionals
      • Cluster Substitutes
    • Specialists
    • Student Support Staff
    • Family Support Staff
  • Programs
    • Before & After School Programs
    • Read-a-thon
  • News & Calendar
    • Monthly Newsletter
    • Monthly Calendar
    • BPS EATS Calendar
    • BPS District Calendar
  • Family & Student Resources
    • Notices & Forms
    • Home Learning Resources
    • ParentSquare
  • About
    • Our Vision & Mission
    • Procedures & Policies
    • Achievements
    • Donors Choose
    • 1st Family Friendly School
    • History
    • Contact Us
  • Home
  • Faculty & Staff
    • Principal
    • Main Office
    • Nurse
    • Teachers & Paraprofessionals >
      • Kindergarten 1
      • Kindergarten 2
      • Grade 1
      • Grade 2
      • Grade 3
      • Grade 4
      • Grade 5
      • Grade 6
      • Paraprofessionals
      • Cluster Substitutes
    • Specialists
    • Student Support Staff
    • Family Support Staff
  • Programs
    • Before & After School Programs
    • Read-a-thon
  • News & Calendar
    • Monthly Newsletter
    • Monthly Calendar
    • BPS EATS Calendar
    • BPS District Calendar
  • Family & Student Resources
    • Notices & Forms
    • Home Learning Resources
    • ParentSquare
  • About
    • Our Vision & Mission
    • Procedures & Policies
    • Achievements
    • Donors Choose
    • 1st Family Friendly School
    • History
    • Contact Us

The History of the
James Otis Elementary School

The James Otis Elementary School was originally constructed in 1905 as a primary school and was one of seven new schoolhouses built in the City of Boston during that period. Designed as a two-story brick and limestone building, the school was built to accommodate approximately 600 students across twelve classrooms. The new school replaced the Webb Primary School in East Boston and represented a significant investment in the education and growth of the local community. The total cost of construction was approximately $106,991.
​
Following the opening of the James Otis School in 1905, East Boston continued to experience significant growth and transformation. The neighborhood expanded its infrastructure and industrial development, bringing new opportunities and changes to the community. In 1919, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts constructed a small airport at the southeast tip of East Boston known as Jeffries Point Airport. This development would eventually become the foundation for what is now Boston Logan International Airport, which officially began operations in 1932.

As East Boston continued to grow, new transportation connections strengthened the relationship between the neighborhood and the rest of Boston. The construction of the Sumner Tunnel in 1931 and the Callahan Tunnel in 1961 provided important links between East Boston and downtown Boston, supporting continued economic development and accessibility.

Throughout its history, James Otis Elementary School has remained a central part of the East Boston community, serving generations of students and families while growing alongside the neighborhood it proudly represents.
Information has been shared from the Boston City Archives, East Boston Museum, and the Boston Globe
Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.